The way to a woman’s heart…

10 11 2009

…is through her favourite cartoon shows.

Not exactly what you were expecting, huh? They say that the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach (something many women have found to be true), yet no one can pinpoint just exactly where that fated way lies regarding women. Sure, you get the cliché that states ‘diamonds are a girl’s best friend’, plus the stereotypical chocolates-and-flowers scenario. I’m not going to fight against that stereotype – my Significant Other buys me flowers every month for our anniversary; not because I have ever expected it, but for the sheer reason that he wants to. He says that he likes buying me flowers, and he also loves spoiling me. Which is why I received flowers, books and chocolate last weekend.

I know that it must sound childish to say that a guy watching your favourite cartoon shows is enough to warm your heart. It might even sound naive and immature, coming from someone who is twenty-two (and a half! More than a half!!) Yet I firmly believe that my ‘immaturity’, in this case, is fine. Because it isn’t really immaturity – it’s an example of my maturity, if you believe in the statement that Maturity is knowing where and when to be immature. And watching cartoons, in the comfort of your own home, falls under that knowing-where-and-when-to-be-immature category.

Even though some members of the male species might only watch these cartoons if only to please their ladies, doing it out of a sense of duty, thus, others actually grow to like, and even become addicted to, these children’s pleasures. I’ll take my Significant Other as an example. When first we met, I told him about the cartoon show THE ANGRY BEAVERS, something I used to watch with my younger sister when I arrived home from school and just needed to mull things over in my head before turning to homework and assignments. My Significant Other became intrigued enough to decide to watch the episodes of the show I had, and he instantly fell in love with those crazy beaver brothers (as far as a guy can be said to fall in love with a television show, a kiddies show, to be precise). He liked the show so much, in fact, that he made a point of getting us the entire series – six seasons – and he even quotes Norbert and Daggett. It’s become a kind of joke with us. Some things we say at random times, some have become a routine, and others pop up when they suit a specific situation. All in all, this private joke has the ability to always put a smile on my face, and a happy little head is always a good thing.

Another cartoon character my Significant Other has obliged me with to watch, is Scooby-Doo. Scooby-Doo has been there since I can remember, even further than that, in fact, and if it wasn’t for that mystery solving pooch, I might not have been interested in mystery and suspense stories. Not that one can really ascertain the relevance of Doo to all of my current interests, but still. Now, because my Significant Other loves animated films, I decided to have him watch all the Scooby movies we have here at home (some of them mine, others belonging to my mother). He has already watched: SCOOBY-DOO ON ZOMBIE ISLAND; SCOOBY-DOO AND THE LEGEND OF THE VAMPIRE; SCOOBY-DOO AND THE WITCH’S GHOST; SCOOBY-DOO AND THE CYBER CHASE; SCOOBY-DOO AND THE MONSTER OF MEXICO; SCOOBY-DOO AND THE SAMURAI SWORD; ALOHA SCOOBY-DOO; and, most recently, SCOOBY-DOO AND THE GHOUL SCHOOL. When we went to the DVD-store the past weekend, he actually took the Scooby film with the ghoul school, because he hadn’t seen it yet. How many guys would choose Scooby-Doo over an action movie?? Now he just has to watch SCOOBY-DOO MEETS THE BOO BROTHERS and SCOOBY-DOO AND THE RELUCTANT WEREWOLF, then he has seen all the Scooby films in my family’s possession.

Watching cartoons keeps you young(er). It has this indescribable, almost palpable way of making you feel euphoric and (momentarily) carefree. Plus a lot of the jokes they put in kiddies shows and films are immensely clever, things children wouldn’t really understand, yet it leaves us adults – hopefully, I can count as an adult – with a wild case of giggles, even tears. I’m lucky to have found someone who shares my love for these shows, and who can make it part of our ‘own’ language and means of communication. My Significant Other just cannot get enough of these cartoons and animated films…

After all, he uses animated films as his ‘sleep movies’. He puts one on at night, and 5 minutes later, he’s out.

Sleepy Scooby

Actions

Information

One response

18 12 2009
Liske van Lill

okay, so my Significant Other has watched SCOOBY-DOO AND THE RELUCTANT WEREWOLF and SCOOBY-DOO MEETS THE BOO BROTHERS. also, we rented SCOOBY-DOO AND THE LOCH NESS MONSTER the other day, so he has been educated in the way of the Doo 😉

Leave a Reply

