Am I like my favourite colour?

17 11 2009

What’s my favourite colour, you ask?

Turquoise. Plain and simple.

I’ve done a few quizzes on the internet, and even surveys when I was bored to figure out which colour I am – and the answer always comes out “yellow”. Yellow… Really?

There’s nothing wrong with yellow, of course. It’s another colour I particularly fancy, yet I do not believe that it can act as an accurate reflection on my personality (if one can categorize it, that is). Yellow has come to stand for happy, perky people – people who are cheery, those who are filled with hope and joy and all things uplifting. Not the perfect description of a shy, pessimistic person who would rather keep to herself than mingle with others. I’ll admit that, to a certain extent, I can identify with yellow’s associations with creative energy and wisdom. Plus I am far happier now than I have ever been – hope following closely in tow. So perhaps I might be a yellow person…

But not ‘yellow’ in the sense of cowardly!

Now, if I say my favourite colour is turquoise, could I try to find a correlation between the colour and my personality? Let’s see. Turquoise is the colour of youth. I am both young (22) and youthful – trying to find revitalizing things in life, and to stay young-at-heart (which is a way for me to justify my cartoon watching ways). Turquoise is a soothing colour, promoting health and strength, and also acting as a symbol of protection and confidence. Above all else, it is a colour of communication. I would like to believe that I can soothe others by listening to them, by giving advice and not being biased. In that sense, I am a good communicator (especially in writing). I want nothing more to protect those close to me, and my passions – among them writing – give me strength, and can aid me in promoting my own confidence.

There’s nothing sexier than a confident woman.

Still, I read somewhere than yellow is a good colour (and gemstone) for writers… hmm… I think I’ll have to spice up my living environment and wardrobe with some yellow, and think calming, creative yellow thoughts while ‘zen-ing’ (my own word) it out while I try to find inspiration… I’m a writer, after all. Or hope to be.

But can’t you just like a colour for what it is – a colour? Not some kind of measuring stick, if you could put it like that, for emotions and personalities and all the feng shui mumbo jumbo floating about? I’m not even sure anymore. We’ve become so used to labelling things, used to attaching meaning and ‘depth’, that it becomes difficult to look at something just as it is, all the surface structures scrapped to reveal what’s truly there…

And now, all I can think about is: what would it mean if I used burnt orange as my wedding colour??

[Me in my little turquoise dress, circa 3 weeks ago at my soon-to-be in-laws’ home…]

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 11 2009
Matan

I like yellow, in fact it was my favourite colour for many years, but now that I am older I prefer orange to be my favourite. What would your analysis be of orange? And why would by preference shift with age?

17 11 2009
Liske van Lill

Well, technically it’s not ‘my’ analysis of orange, but what I have heard and read. Orange is a warm colour, and also links to creativity, if memory serves me right. It’s a power colour, vivacious, and linked to strength/ vigour/ energy and stamina/ patience. Curiosity correlates with orange, a colour synonymous with considerate, ‘genuine’ people. So as you get older, and become curious about life and where it might take you (especially in the job sphere), you come to discover and investigate new things, taking up challenges and seeing where they might take you. Also, orange can boost one’s self-esteem, something we find to be more and more necessary as we get older, depending on the situations we find ourselves in.

It’s interesting that you, as a male, like orange, because I read that it is among the top three colours men tend to dislike. Read “What Colors Appeal to Men?” (http://desktoppub.about.com/od/choosingcolors/f/mencolors.htm) and “What are the Favorite Colors of Women?” (http://desktoppub.about.com/od/choosingcolors/f/womencolors.htm) if you have time. Ironically, orange also falls under the top three least favourite colours of women…

So, to come back to your question, perhaps you have become more contemplative and goal oriented than normal, perky, cheery ‘yellow’ type of people. Often, in the ‘adult’ world, although we do hope, it can be hard to believe that what we hope for can come true, which means that our cynicism could influence yellow’s happiness factor… Then again, these are all just colours. So maybe your liking of the one shifting to the other simply happened because it happened. When we’re young, we like bright, vibrant colours – for a child, that would be yellow, and like to sunshine days filled with fun and laughter. For an adult, orange might seem to be more ‘fitting’, as it were, because it is a warm colour…

I don’t know. You like it because you do. So there 😉

17 11 2009
Liske van Lill

Please don’t ask me to analyze other colours now – go read up on it yourself, otherwise I’ll have to…

17 11 2009
Matan

Actually your explanation is very good and make a lot of sense, so thank you for that! 😉

Leave a Reply

