Child of the 90s

28 11 2009

Okay, so technically I’m a child of the 80s, because I was born in 1987. Yet when it comes to music, you have to admit that the 90s was a pretty memorable time. I grew up listening to many ups and downs in the charts, and although I cannot remember everything, what I do remember is that we all had a roaring good time.

What led me to blog about my experience of music during my adolescent years of the 90s? My younger sister, actually… although she doesn’t know it.

Now, my younger sister has a tendency to be loud. Really, really loud when she’s playing her music – most of it not particularly worth listening to, all you hear is thud thud boom bang boom thud boom boom THUD. Bass all over the place. Bloody repetitive… and all the music exactly the same. Yes, I know the word ‘repetitive’ pretty much covers what I just said, yet I mean it in a sense greater than restricting it to one artist or one album. All of these artists, scattered in different categories, across different albums, and seemingly finding no variation within their array of songs (what one might call a ‘repertoire’, if I felt the need to use such a distinguished word regarding the likes of them) – no great discerning factor amongst any of them. Was that Beyoncé or Rihanna belting out the tune? Why do young people like Lady Gaga? And how am I even supposed to consider listening to a song with “Birthday Sex” as the title?

And I swear, if I have to hear the song HOTEL ROOM SERVICE one more time, I’m going to have a conniption. I mean, do The Youth Of Today even listen, really actually listen, to the words spewing from sound systems? What has happened to values? Everything has become so bloody common, skanky and perverse, it’s disgusting.  Go to www.letssingit.com and look up aforementioned song (by Pitbull – what a mongrel…)

I don’t want sex and everything right up in my face, thank you very much, when I’m listening to music. What happened to the true feeling and brilliance of sound accompanying a song? Being able to discern the various instruments being used, and relishing in each note? No, instead, we have to have our ears bombarded by noise, a youth so hyped up on sex (from as young as 12 or 13!) and alcohol and whatever else… I’m actually ashamed of the high school I attended, when I see what it has become now. The kids their look like university students, and they want to act like it. When I was 13, I looked 13. Now, 13 year olds look like 18 year olds, and my younger sister, who is 18, is often mistaken for being in her mid-twenties!

But enough of that, now. Last night, while skipping through most songs on a double-disc album of the latest hits my sister was listening to, I became nostalgic for all the old 90s music. I removed the vile disc from my CD-player, feeling a strong urge to disinfect it yet composing myself (although my obsessive compulsive self was screaming in rage and protest) enough just to remove the disc from my sight. I then commenced to lay my hands on 90s music, after which I took my findings into the kitchen and from there on continued to annoy our neighbours by turning up the volume on such classics as NEVER EVER (All Saints), JESSIE (Joshua Kadison), BLACK VELVET (Allanah Myles), LEMON TREE (Fool’s Garden), LOVEFOOL (The Cardigans), NOTHING COMPARES TO YOU (Sinead O’Connor) and MR VAIN (Culture Beat), all from my mum’s double disc THE BEST OF THE NINETIES album, volume 1.

I shook my little toosh and sang along to WASTED YOUTH and EVERYTHING LOUDER THAN EVERYTHING ELSE by Meatloaf. I got kooky on country music, LITTLE BITTY (Alan Jackson), BOOT SCOOTIN’ BOOGIE (Brooks & Dunn) and IT STARTS WITH ‘L’ (Ty England) amongst them. I reminisced over crooning sessions of love songs with my sisters, including the likes of BLUE MOON (The Marcels), LEADER OF THE PACK (The Shangri-Las), ONE FINE DAY (The Chiffons), WHEN A MAN LOVES A WOMAN (Percy Sledge), DA DOO RON RON (The Crystals) and CHAPEL OF LOVE (The Dixie Cups). But most of all, I laughed hysterically when it came to classics such as SEXY EYES (Whigfield) and the MACARENA (Los Del Dio) – memories of lying about outside on a blanket, listening to tunes filling the warm summer air with pure pleasure as it tinkled from my old Sonic Blaster. Luckily, my dad played along last night and ‘tolerated’ my music choice.

But I could see that he enjoyed it – just the two of us, home alone, singing along to the good old days.

Jive Bunny was always the best, and you all know it. So that’s how we ended the night.

Actions

Information

One response

7 12 2009
Nate

I guess we have to face the fact of we are getting or have already become old. It is inevitable that we will probably always and forever have a distaste for the younger and future generations music. The more sad fact is as time progresses, we will learn to tolerate the “older” music as it becomes worse. I hated the “pop” and “rap” of the 90’s. Now looking back I think it was OK. I often find radio stations playing throwback 90’s dance party music and it takes me back. It makes me feel younger at times, though too much can make me nostalgically nauseous. Over the past few years I’ve compiled a library of music ranging from mid 70’s to todays music. The closer to today I get, the more selective I am. So it’s safe to assume that I have very few current “rap” songs in the library. So to all of us Children of the 80/90’s, we will always have The Cranberries, The Thornberries, and snozberries… later Liz.

Leave a Reply

