Go ahead, make my day

23 12 2009

And someone just did!

A very special someone, I might add, although I’m sure I don’t need to, otherwise why would I be blogging about it?

Now, the internet has been quite good to me over the last couple of years. Of course, the internet is part of technological advancement, the Future, as they say, so it goes without saying that one would hope that it does one good. But it’s more than just reading other people’s blogs, browsing the net for valuable information, and Google-ing an array of pictures from cats to cupcakes. No, I’m talking about human relationships, and how it led me to where I am now, in a way.

Now I know that the internet offers various forms of social applications, such as MySpace, Facebook and Twitter. They are there in order for one to keep in touch with friends, find people with similar interests (which I did on Twitter – what can I say? Stephen King fans unite!), and whatever else you can think of. Well… maybe not all of the whatever else you could possibly think of, but I’m sure you understand what I mean. I won’t bore you again with the details of how I met my Significant Other, yet I’ll only say again that it was through Facebook. I’m not going to lobby for or against social chat applications (like Zoosk on Facebook, or all the other chat rooms round and about the internet), but in this case, in my naivety, it worked for me.

It was also via the internet that I met my best friend.

In 2001, at the end of March of beginning of April, I believe, my father ‘got with it’, technologically speaking, and decided to get us the internet. This was when I was in the 8th grade, and here in South Africa, that’s your first year of high school. You have primary school, which is from kindergarten until the 7th grade, and then high school, grades 8 until 12. Now, since it was my first year in the big league, my father thought that it would be a good idea to have the internet in our home, for in case I wanted to do some research (way to go, dad!). Now, I might be mistaken, yet I’m almost positive that Mr Jack Daniels (not his real name, obviously) met on the day after my 14th birthday. Although, technically, I didn’t know it was him, since he was trying to get one of his friends to open up, and helped him to type e-mails to me. That friendship having failed, he told me that it was sort of him all along – although not the personality, the other guy was horrid – and then we took our friendship from there. And where did we meet?

Pen Pal Garden. I kid you not.

I’ve always loved having pen pals. I used to have quite a few from overseas, as well as a few local, yet most of them dwindled away, one of my friends died (allegedly – that is, according to his sister), and one moved to another country, so I assume that she misplaced my address. Now, with Mr Jack Daniels, the two of us would send e-mails, yet later we started sending one another snail mail, as they call it – real letters, coming through the post, just like I used to do with my other pen pals who mysteriously disappeared. For Christmas, Jack and I would mail one another gifts; every now and again we would call one another long distance and talk for what felt like ages; and birthdays always held the certainty of a card that would be delivered, be it sometimes a bit early or sometimes a bit late. For my 16th birthday, he sent me a heart pendant. It’s been almost 9 years (it will be, come next April), and it has been the best – and longest, I suppose – friendship I have ever had.

Since there is about an 8 hour time difference between where the two of us live, phoning doesn’t happen anymore. And it’s quite rare for the two of us to be on the net at the same time. Yet this morning, while I sat twiddling my thumbs and perusing Facebook (can you imagine my desperation?), he was online, and he told me that he wanted to come down all the way from Clarksville – Nashville, Tennessee – to my lil’ shit-splat town down south (shoot me, I’m getting into my Western Speak) for my wedding, if I wanted him there. How many friends would be willing to fly thousands of miles/ kilometres, on their own expense, to see you get married (to someone else, haha…)?

So thank you, internet, for leaving me with endless possibilities. Even though I made the choices and built the friendships, your Google abilities led me into the (Pen Pal) Garden to pick one of the sweetest flowers.

Actions

Information

5 responses

23 12 2009
Matan Uberstein

What a heart-felt story :’) I’m glad that you could meet some like “Mr Jack”, on the web, these days it’s so rare for that to happen.

23 12 2009
Liske van Lill

how true! and i’m even luckier to have met my Significant Other on a somewhat dodgy Facebook app 🙂

23 12 2009
Liske van Lill

Now that I think of it, the two of us became friends on 31 April 2001. Yes, it was definitely that date, Jack can help me with that when/if he reads this blog entry.

28 12 2009
Nate

Yes, it was April 30/31, 2001 when we offically became friends. I think I still have copies of the original emails and I have every letter you sent all tucked away in a shoebox. I read the blog th morning you posted it, just now got around to reading the comments.

23 12 2009
Kimwithak

Isn’t the internet fantastic?!?

Leave a Reply

