Books I’ve read this year

28 12 2009

Sorry for the absence, what with Christmas and obligations and blah blah all that hoot. Even though it’s called the ‘Festive Season’, it’s amazing how that feeling you get of wanting to feed others arsenic comes so naturally at this time of the year…

But enough of that. I month or so ago, I decided to make a list of all the books I can remember reading throughout the last year. Although I might have missed one or two, at least I know that I got most of them down – 57 books, can you believe it?! Many were prescribed books for my Honours degree, and quite a few more are dearly loved Stephen King novels. I highly recommend his latest masterpiece, UNDER THE DOME, as an exceptionally clever novel, something that is lovely to read as you can play detective and put the puzzle pieces together yourself as things go along. Then again, with Stephen King, it is often so. It’s part of his style, one his readers have become familiar with and attached to: going on a journey with King through small town lives and mentalities, living through what makes those people tick, and feeling sheer hatred and frustration at the characters one well should (especially characters such as Big Jim Rennie, one of those Jesus screaming politicians…)

Anyway, leaving Master King and that gem of a novel aside for another day, here’s my list of novels read throughout the year. If you’ve read any of them and liked them (and even if you didn’t), let me know, and we can start a discussion – you might even inspire a future blog, something I am hoping for, as I would like to get back into the feel of talking literature. Just please don’t get annoyed if I go off on a tangent when it comes to S.K. ……

BOOKS I’VE READ THIS YEAR (as far as I can remember…):

* Oroonoko – Aphra Behn

* Jane Eyre – Charlotte Brontë

* “The Yellow Wallpaper” – Charlotte Perkins Gilman

* Indiana – George Sand

* Wide Sargasso Sea – Jean Rhys

* The Lover – Marguerite Duras

* Indigo – Marina Warner

* From Man to Man – Olive Schreiner

* Wuthering Heights – Emily Brontë

* Villette – Charlotte Brontë

* The Tenant of Wildfell Hall – Anne Brontë

* The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins

* Bleak House – Charles Dickens

* Middlemarch – George Eliot

* North and South – Elizabeth Gaskell

* What Maisie Knew – Henry James

* Vanity Fair – William Thackeray

* Waiting for the Barbarians – J.M. Coetzee

* Life and Times of Michael K – J.M. Coetzee

* Disgrace – J.M. Coetzee

* Diary of a Bad Year – J.M. Coetzee

* All Under Heaven – Darryl Accone

* By The Sea – Abdulrazak Gurnah

* In an Antique Land – Amitav Ghosh

* Crossing the River – Caryl Phillips

* The Wedding – Imraan Coovadia

* Garden of the Plagues – Russel Brownlee

* The Castaways – Sheila Fugard

* Unconfessed – Yvette Christianse

* Lost in Translation – Eva Hoffman

* The End of Mr Y – Scarlett Thomas

* PopCo – Scarlett Thomas

* The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul – Douglas Adams

* Collected short stories of Edgar Allan Poe

* 3 collections with Sherlock Holmes tales (by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle)

* The Tales of Beedle the Bard – J.K. Rowling

* The Dark Half – Stephen King

* The Bachman Books – Richard Bachman (Stephen King, you know!)

* Danse Macabre – Stephen King

* The Stephen King Companion – George Beahm (ed.)

* The Stephen King phenomenon – Michael R. Collings

* Reading Stephen King : issues of censorship, student choice, and popular literature – Brenda Miller Power (ed.)

* Thinner – Richard Bachman

* Misery – Stephen King

* Different Seasons – Stephen King

* The Green Mile – Stephen King

* Just After Sunset – Stephen King

* The Regulators – Richard Bachman

* Four Past Midnight – Stephen King

* From A Buick 8 – Stephen King

* Rose Madder – Stephen King

* Firestarter – Stephen King

* The Tommyknockers – Stephen King

* Under the Dome – Stephen King

* It’s not Rocket Science and other irritating modern clichés­ – Clive Whichelow & Hugh Murray

Actions

Information

5 responses

4 01 2010
Kimwithak

Wow! That’s a TON of books! Good for you. How did you like Under the Dome? I just got it for The Mister for Christmas.

Happy New Year!

5 01 2010
Liske van Lill

Well, as an avid King reader (and admirer, it goes without saying), I found UNDER THE DOME to be an excellent, fulfilling read… Although I’m not sure how I feel about the ending. Many things happen right from the beginning of the novel, although at times it can feel a bit ‘slow’. King yet again gives great insight into small town mentality and politics, and his characters are well crafted and true to their ‘nature’, if one is allowed to say something like that. So if The Mister likes King, I’m sure he’ll love being captivated UNDER THE DOME 😉 Happy New Year to you, too, and I’m looking forward to reading your blog (as I do each time it lands in my inbox).

19 01 2010
Vinde Ved Roulette

Great idea, but will this work over the long run?

31 12 2010
The books I read in 2010 « The Skinny on my Jeans (Genes)

[…] books I read in 2010 Last year, at the end of December, I did a blog post containing a list of all the books I had read during the course of the year. So when the New Year […]

1 01 2013
The books I read in 2012 « The Skinny on my Jeans (Genes)

[…] sharing the books I managed to read over the course of the past year (you can also see my posts for 2009, 2010 and […]

Leave a Reply

