Scattered Brainings II

1 02 2010

* As is my once-a-year-tradition, I had cheesecake yesterday. I had to, since I only have cheesecake in January, and yesterday was my final chance at fulfilling one of my ‘cycles’… Not that I was particularly in the mood to have some, yet it was delicious nevertheless.

* I’m really missing Stellenbosch University. Took my sister back to her residence yesterday, and walked down its familiar corridors. Sigh. At least I’ll get to be there when I visit her… but, it’s not the same.

* FLDSMDFR. That’s all I’m going to say. Google it, if you must 😉

* Why are parents so paranoid sometimes? I think paranoia is in my genes, not something I am thankful for, but I also have it so I’ll have to live with it. My mum spent most of yesterday telling me how terribly thin/ skinny I am. Instead of getting angry, I only resignedly replied: “Yes, mommy.”

* I always seem to go home at the right time. Last Wednesday, I spent the day doing the ironing (among other things) for my mum. Yesterday, I helped my mum with a thing or two; smiled serenely as I assisted my (frustrated) older sister with her wedding invitations; and not only had some silly, laughable times with my younger sister, but took her back to Stellenbosch, and helped her carry all her stuff up to the third floor. So we had to take steps from the ground floor, to the first, to the second, and finally to the third. Insane! And I loved it!

* When you’re looking for a job, time seems to speed up and slow down simultaneously. A week ago, I went to do some tests at a company for a proofreader job – and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I can really see myself doing what was required of me in those tests. Still, I have yet to hear from them. The day feels excruciatingly drawn out as I wait for an e-mail or telephone call. Yet, at the day’s end, I wonder where the time wandered off to. I’m going slightly mad…

* Never take multi-vitamin tablets on an empty stomach. Just trust me on this one.

* Now that my hair is shorter, it takes longer to wash and blow-dry! Why is that?!

* Our stove is finally going to be fixed today. It’s only been, like, six or seven months of me asking my Significant Other to get it done…

* CLOUDY WITH A CHANCE OF MEATBALLS is an excellent animated film!…

* …although I’m not too sure about other ‘kiddie films’ making the rounds. PONYO was bizarre, felt like I wasted an hour and a half of my life. Same goes for FANTASTIC MR FOX. I get the fact that it’s from a Roald Dahl story, but that doesn’t mean I have to be impressed. MATILDA was great, and so was JAMES AND THE GIANT PEACH. Oh, and THE WITCHES, of course. As for Mr Fox, he should rather stay underground in his hole. Another new film I watched recently is 9. Somewhat creepy, with a hint of what-was-the-point-of-this-film and so-what-comes-next for good measure. Felt truly disturbed by number 8, who looked like a cross between IT and Jason when he put his mask thingy on. And when his mouth gets stitched up? Great big shudder. Wonder what I’m going to think of CORALINE…

* On 8 February, my Significant Other and I will have been together for two years. As such, a great gift giving opportunity lies ahead, and I have a pretty good idea what I want to get him… although he jumped the gun on me by already presenting me with my gift on Saturday. Now, one of the reasons I haven’t been blogging lately is because I’ve been feeling down-and-out. Miserably so. Physically (id est health-wise), mentally, emotionally – the works. Friday evening, after a crying session (on my side), my Significant Other asked me if I would accept a kitten as a two-year anniversary present. Stop. No more tears. Inquisitive look. Question: are you serious?! Well, it seems like he was, because Saturday morning we bought a kitty bed, blankets, lots of toys, food bowls, food, a collar, a scratching post, a sand box, kitty litter sand, a pooper scooper… and a beautiful tortoiseshell-like kitten, Smudgy. I promise to post a picture of him soon. The reason for his name? A LOLcat picture I once saw on www.icanhascheezburger.com – I’ll insert it below:

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 02 2010
Kimwithak

CONGRATS on the new kitty! Cats are so much fun!

2 03 2010
Liske van Lill

Yip, cats are amazing 🙂 Smudgy is actually a calico, although I called her tortoiseshell-like in the post. I was just so excited, I couldn’t wait to mention it! Hope Rocky the Dog is coping and doing well, xx

Leave a Reply

