The magic of three

12 05 2010

The three little pigs. The three wise men. The three witches from MACBETH. Three wishes the genie grants you. Good or bad news coming in threes. Cerberus the three-headed dog. Somewhere in folklore, fairytales/ myths, or general sayings and superstitions, you’ll find the number three popping up continuously. Many believe three to be a good, magical number. No matter what the case, three seems to be a good number in my life. As such, I shall mention three things.

I’ve had three cats in my lifetime. The one died an unexpected death, quite heartbreaking. A taxi drove over Sokkies (that’s Afrikaans for ‘socks’, because his front paws were white, as well as a bit of his chest). Our ‘adopted grandmother’ who lives across the street saw what happened and rushed the cat (no more than a big kitten, really) to the veterinary clinic, yet it was too late, for his heart collapsed. After that we got Mattewis (also Afrikaans, so let’s call him ‘Mewsy’ instead). Mewsy has been a part of the family for fourteen years already, and he’s still going strong, although he has a large lump on his left side which I fear to be cancerous. But now that I am no longer living in my parental home, I have my own kitten, Smudgy – the first female cat I have ever owned. She’s naughty, but I love her to bits. Perhaps not living at home anymore and owning my own cat can be seen as significant in relation to the number three. It could just be a lot of mumbo-jumbo, but who knows?

I’ve sent my CV out to many, many places, and yet I have only gone for interviews at three of those fine companies. Out of the three (the first two being unsuccessful), I believe the third to be the best option for me. Not only did I get an interview, but they had me come back for a second interview last Friday. Now all I have to do is twiddle my thumbs and wait patiently until I gain any news telephonically or via e-mail, be it good or no.

I am one of the luckiest girls around. Sure, I know that it’s easy to complain about life and its hardships, easy to feel down and depressed, easy to blame the world and see only the negative. Yet I am truly blessed, because I have three mothers. Not just one, like most people, or two, like married people, but that magical, mystical three.

There’s my (soon-to-be) mother-in-law, a fiery and engaging woman, so honest and true and loving and kind and funny and funky and up-beat and uplifting and dedicated and… the list goes on and on. She has her hair dyed bright red, just another personality quirk, and I love her so much for making me feel like a daughter in her home. I couldn’t have asked for better in-laws, and I know that I am truly fortunate in that regard, as one so seldom finds that both sets of parents like their future son- or daughter-in-law (or, vice versa, that you or your fiancé don’t like your future in-laws).

Then there’s my Tennessee mommy, Mr Jack Daniels’ mother. I’ve been friends with Mr Jack Daniels for nine years now, and in all that time, his mother has never had anything bad or negative to say about me. She loves me for who I am, and thinks that my South African accent (which I didn’t know I had) sounds cute. She’s sent me Christmas cards over the years, and even a gold bracelet once with a heart symbolizing the love that the family has for me. This year, she sent me the most beautiful birthday card. It made me feel privileged to know that I am loved and respected, even so far across the sea, and I love my Tennessee Mommy very much, too.

And yes, the most important of all: my mother. There aren’t enough words to describe my mum. She is one of the wisest people I know. She is always there for me no matter what, but not just because she’s my mother. She a friend, a confidant, someone to laugh with, and someone to cry with in movies (although I do most of the crying). She taught me how to make a mean batch of lasagne and a delicious chocolate cake, two things I usually get many compliments for. She has loved and accepted my Significant Other as her own son since day one, and even bought the initials ‘L’ and ‘M’ for the charm bracelet she gave me for my 21st birthday – by that time, my Significant Other and I had only been together for two months! My mum never quits, and she always gives her everything, even if she has to put herself aside (like marking test papers until the wee hours of the night, only to sleep for a mere hour or two). There are so many things I could say, but there’s no way of saying it without sounding cliché and maybe, to some, insincere. But when it comes to my mum, I couldn’t have been blessed with a lovelier individual than she has always and will always be.

Oh, and although this has nothing to do with the letter three, I simply wanted to let my readers know that my laparoscopic surgery yesterday was a success. I had to be at the hospital at 11:30, and only went into the operating room around 16:00 (or quarter past), but my gynaecologist informed me that he had successfully removed all traces of endometriosis from and around my ovaries, womb, etc. When I woke up, the pain was dire – the worst pain I have ever experienced in my entire life. Luckily, things got better later in the evening, and now I have very little pain. I just have to take good care of myself, and allow the healing process to take its course.

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 05 2010
Tweets that mention The magic of three « The Skinny on my Jeans (Genes) -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Liske van Lill. Liske van Lill said: The magic of three: http://wp.me/pt7Yn-6t […]

21 05 2010
what does my name mean

hi wats your myspace page

Leave a Reply

