We don’t need no education (?)

18 05 2010

Actually, I kind of think I do.

It’s no secret that I’ve been missing the university and English Department terribly this year. All the Maties are busy with their mid-year exams, and I keep them fondly in my thoughts, hoping that they all make it out okay in the end. My younger sister is busy with her first year at university, which at least still keeps me ‘close’ and updated about what’s going on… in her experience of campus life, at least, and not actually about what’s been happening culturally, socially, economically, and such… yet I suppose I could go online and read the campus newspaper, so maybe I should just do that.

One of the things I have come to realize, though, is a sort of dependency I picked up while in attendance at Stellenbosch University. Whereas I managed to read a whopping total of fifty-seven books last year, this year I have only succeeding in reading a meagrely eight books… Only eight!! I know that I had quite a few prescribed novels/books to work through last year, but somehow I managed to read a substantial amount of other books as well, despite having classes to attend, assignment and essays to complete, doing research, and whatever else one might expect of a post-graduate student. Now I am at home. I have no academic obligations whatsoever. My time is my own, and I am free to do with it as I please. I love reading a great deal… and yet it seems as though the will to read has left me, as though it were a completely lacklustre activity.

What has become of me?!

Perhaps I need to find some kind of motivation that’ll get me reading. Here I am, an unashamed bookworm, unable to worm her way (excuse the pun and imagery) through one book a week. Not even my Stephen King collection can bring me solace; no comfort is to be found in my personal mini-library of over 300 tomes, and the thought decent novels just sitting there untouched and rejected mortifies me.

There is some hope, though it will only come towards the end of the year, which probably cannot be considered to be hope at all, then, I suppose. In any case, I am excited to announce that a new Stephen King collection of five novellas, titled FULL DARK, NO STARS is to be released on Tuesday 9 November 2010.

Waiting that long (five and a half months) might drive me crazy, so instead I’ll have to try an alternative: checking which Stephen King novels I haven’t read yet, and then going to the library to loan them or the bookstore to purchase them. If anyone can get me out of this slump, then I’m sure that Mr King can do it. There’s no way I can go back to university now, after all.

So maybe, just maybe, “we don’t need no education” to be able to get back into the habit of reading more, but “we could use some motivation”…

…that, and a soft decadent cupcake with lots of icing and little sprinkles.

Just what I need! So, who'll buy me some?

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 05 2010
Tweets that mention We don’t need no education (?) « The Skinny on my Jeans (Genes) -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Liske van Lill. Liske van Lill said: We don't need no education (?): http://wp.me/pt7Yn-6M […]

18 05 2010
billyjean

Hi,

I’m giving you the Versatile Blogger award which you can collect here: http://midlandsmadness.blogspot.com/2010/05/marvellous-monday.html

There are no cash prizes, no press coverage and no platform for gracious acceptance speeches, but you do get a pic to pop onto your blog as well as the knowledge that a fellow blogger thinks you rock 🙂

Cheers,
Billyjean

Leave a Reply

