Good ol’ winter

16 06 2010

Oh boy, oh boy, oh buddy boy – winter is here!…

…mostly, or at least it feels that way, even though, technically, it only starts on the 21st of June in the Southern Hemisphere (it has to do with the winter solstice, if I have to get all astronomical). And you know what winter ushers in? …other than overeating and obsessions about body mass/ fat and all such non-happy little things…

That’s right: wholesome winter meals, prepared with love, which also creates a sort of satisfactory feeling of achievement in the person preparing the food.

As that is the case – although I try my best to be a decent chef at all times – I decided that two winter essentials were necessary to create a cosy evening in for my Significant Other and myself two evenings ago… homemade butternut soup and a homemade ciabatta bread/ loaf/ thingy. Paired with a glass of Humbro, the chilly evening would have to try hard to put a damper on my spirits.

That evening I peeled, deseeded and diced a 1 kg butternut, adding the necessary ingredients as time went on, and then turned to getting everything ready for the bread. Actually… no, wait, that’s not true. First I got everything together for the bread, then I started on the soup preparations. My Significant Other was nice enough to mix the bread batter for me, which then had to rise a bit before we plopped it on a baking tray and let the oven do its magic.

The end result? Not exactly how I expected it to turn out, yet delicious nonetheless.

Homemade ciabatta!

Did you know that ciabatta – which was invented in 1982 – actually means “carpet slipper”? It’s true! I read on Wikipedia that the bread/ loaf/ thingy is “somewhat elongated, broad and flattish and, like a slipper, should be somewhat collapsed in the middle”. You learn something new every day…

I found the butternut soup recipe in one of my Sarie Kos (Sarie Food) magazines, an easy recipe with only four ingredients! Well, you need to add salt and pepper to taste, but I don’t really count that as an ‘ingredient’. I also don’t add cream on top as a garnish, so that becomes null and void as an ingredient, as well. The recipe for the ciabatta also comes from a Sarie Kos magazine – however, it comes from the very first edition of Sarie Kos vir Mans (Sarie Food for Men), which will hit the shelves once a year. Who knows, perhaps it’ll become so popular that it, too, will have a new issue with each passing season. Only time will tell.

But in the interim, I intend to enjoy being a bit of a housewife. Because making food is a lot of fun, and seeing my Significant Other enjoy it (without pretence or submission) is worth every minute I spend in the kitchen. Mommy material in the making! 😉

Actions

Information

One response

17 06 2010
jaszminedt

I will patiently wait for that dinner invitation 😉

Leave a Reply

