I am intern – please, have mercy…

9 07 2010

You probably must know the expression, “today is the first day of the rest of your life” (by Charles Dederich). This sentiment can be made applicable every day, in fact, since it’s a way for you to start your life ‘over’ again.

Confused? Yeah, I know.

The fact of the matter is, with the dawn of every new day, we begin with a clean slate: no mistakes made for the day (yet), perhaps a chance to right some wrongs, try harder at certain things, give up bad habits, and in general just to realize that although life isn’t perfect, we can determine what we make of the day ahead – what we hope to achieve, and that we’ll live that day to the fullest.

At least, that’s how I see it.

Now that I have managed to be awarded one of a mere ten internships from PASA (in association with MAPPP Seta, one must mention), I feel like today was the first day of the rest of my life in the publishing industry. That’s how strongly I feel about this opportunity, and that’s how hard I’ll work to prove myself worthy. Hard work, dedication, and a thirst to build on your skills…

That, and a bit of enthusiasm will get you far. Plus a bit of feigned optimism for good measure – nobody likes a whiny employee, and it definitely won’t extend your contract. It’s best to realize that an internship is a chance for you to develop your skills and character, finding your strengths and weaknesses, and at the end of the day to know what you’re interested in and what you’re good at, yet taking the bad with the good and putting up with it, even if it’s pretty mundane or not your cup of tea.

I went for an orientation session today with the other three Cape Town-based interns from ten until twelve. After making copious amounts of notes (myself being the only person to do so), I am now equipped with a file – supplied by PASA – and various booklets to begin my six month training-slash-work experience opportunity starting next Tuesday. I’m excited… how could I not be?! I’ll be working at Oxford University Press, a place I could only ever dream of employing me *sigh* I’ll be helping out at the Cape Town Book Fair, coming up with concepts for the 2011 World Book Day, possibly be attending a publishing indaba and PASA meetings… in a nutshell: living the dream, baby – living the dream! (Even though, I’ll admit, they got my surname wrong – even after quite a bit of e-mail correspondence, plus having a copy of my ID *laugh*)

I’ll be heading into this endeavour with all the zest I can muster. My obsessive compulsive tendencies will just have to be restricted to my time at home…

Actions

Information

One response

9 07 2010
Matan Uberstein

Yeay! I’m so glad you excited about this opportunity! I truly believe that you’ll knock there socks off! You have the potential to be great at anything you put your mind to. So open you arms and embrace the awesomeness that awaits you! 😀

Leave a Reply

