Curse of the genes (?)… stupid ovaries…

26 07 2010

So I have an appointment with my gynaecologist tomorrow. Just a check up, two-and-a-half months after the operation, to see how I’ve been doing and such.

My answer?

‘I’m going to hurt you…’

I’ve kept it no secret that this has been an awful experience. I don’t feel better at all. In fact, I’d go as far as to say I feel worse. I’ve gained weight. Some of my shirts won’t fit. I have constant pain and don’t know what I should or shouldn’t eat. I’ve even considered joining a gym – something that is way out of character.

I probably shouldn’t blame my gynae, but I don’t think blaming my genes is going to help my.

I mentioned a while back that all three of us sisters seem to be cursed when it comes to our female reproductive bits. My older sister with twice removed cysts; myself having polycystic ovaries and undergoing the laparoscopy for endometriosis (which I did have); and my younger sister, Addy, with a high testosterone count – one that outweighs her oestrogen; naturally not a good thing.

She (Addy) actually had her first gynaecologist appointment last Thursday to see what’s ‘wrong’ with her. Turns out that she, too, has polycystic ovaries like yours truly.

Curious-er and curious-er, to quote ALICE IN WONDERLAND.

I just hope that it’s going to be a good year for Addy. She already had a shock earlier this year when she found out that she had growths called nodules on her vocal cords – for someone studying music, with singing as your key instrument, this is one of the worst things that could happen to you. She went for treatments, learning some exercises that could help and being told to lower her voice a bit (yes, I’ll admit, she does tend to get loud at times).

Luckily, at her last appointment, she found out that the nodules are completely gone.

That said, now she has to take so many different kinds of pills for her gynaecological problems, some might mistake her for a junkie of some sort. And on top of all of that, she has to have her wisdom teeth removed at the end of the year (after her final exams)!

Makes me feel grateful that I didn’t have similar things to deal with during my first year at university.

In the meantime, I’ll get my head around this whole gym-joining thing – something my Significant Other is quite keen on – while contemplating going on a diet. It couldn’t hurt… and if it does (the gyming, not the dieting), I’m blaming him. He better make up for it with a massage or two…

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 07 2010
Iodine [Iodine]: | Carcinoma Blog

[…] Curse of a genes (?)… foolish ovaries… « The Skinny upon my Jeans … […]

27 07 2010
Kim

Sorry you’re going through all of this. It totally sucks.

Leave a Reply

