My own little patch of town Under the Dome

28 07 2010

I love Stephen King.

That said (for the how-many-ith time), I can continue with my entry.

At the end of last year, the King of writing publishing a fairly long novel titled UNDER THE DOME. Wonderful, to say the least, and filled with so many small town truths that King has become a master in depicting with modesty.

Every time I think about that novel, I remember the full cover I’ve seen around the internet: that hazy, almost never-minded shades of pink purple turning to blue, from a ‘happy’ light shade to a darker, more sinister (and, I suppose, foreshadowing) shade as the minutes under that strange dome tick by… In a word, the cover is Lovely. One thing I like about a book is the appeal of its cover. That’s not to say that I won’t buy a book just because it’s cover isn’t all that snazzy, but it’s an added bonus to have such a wonderful work of publishing and design (‘design’ referring to the layout people and artists) art.

You must admit, you’d rather pick up a book with a fetching cover than one that seems dull and ‘ordinary’.

Lucky for me, Stephen King’s novels (a) always have great covers, and (b) have such great content, the cover probably wouldn’t bother me much.

Whenever we drive to or from the apartment on a certain stretch of road, there’s a section of town I like to think of as my own little patch of Under the Dome Town. It doesn’t have a huge, mysterious obstruction surrounding it, and I’m not sure what kinds of people inhabit the various domiciles, yet it’s not the people or their personal/social politics that interests me.

The thing I love about my patch of Dome Town, is… the sky.

Different hues of purple, sometimes tinged with the softest of pinks (or the sunniest/brightest, depending on the lighting and the clouds), turning purple-blue as the evening draws out… ultimately plunging the vulnerable little houses – all seemingly the same on the outside – into darkness until another day dawns.

And you know, I haven’t really ever seen clouds there. Plenty of stars, and sometimes none, but clouds? They seem to be limited.

Come to think of it, I don’t believe that the cover of UNDER THE DOME has that many clouds floating majestically above the ant-sized town from so high up. Perhaps that’s what makes the image so much more appealing and ‘apt’ to me. I wonder what kinds of lives these people lead, whether they have pets and/or children, how they get along as a unit of the broader community – in a nutshell, whether the microcosm of such a society actually exists here in South Africa.

I know that the section I’m referring to forms part of Durbanville, just a stretch of housing, which means that it isn’t your run-of-the-mill small town whose mentality and ‘essence’ can be stereotyped. But still, how many kids in those neighbourhoods actually know each other and play together? I wonder…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

