This is NOT a movie review…

9 08 2010

…this is more like a bit of personal ‘remorse’.

I remember it as clear as day, as if it happened only yesterday, and any other cliché you can think of. It was during my first month or two at university in 2006. I was in the Wilcocks building, waiting to enter a certain room where I would be having my history lecture, when a sudden idea popped into my mind – something so seemingly simple, complex or irrelevant (depending on how you think of it) that I had to write it down. It was *drum roll please* an idea for a story.

At that moment, I started thinking: would it be possible to go into a person’s mind or subconscious, whether they be awake or dreaming, and steal their ideas before they even had them/ had chance to act on or voice them? And how would one go about planting an idea in someone’s head and have them think it was their own? That was my idea…

…so thank you very much, Christopher Nolan, for bringing us INCEPTION…

There goes another one of my great ideas down the proverbial toilet that is the flush-away pool of no longer useful notions.

Of course, my story idea wasn’t as complex as the plot of INCEPTION. Even if I had taken the time to sit down and write it back then, there is no way that it would have had as much depth and richness as this piece of cinematographic excellence. It’s just the sort of film that appeals to me – the kind of plot I wish that I could have written (much like wanting to have brilliant ideas to rival those of Stephen King, although I definitely know that such a thing will never happen to me, no matter what age I reach). Accessing someone’s mind through their dreams… working with imagination, corporate espionage, mystery suspense thrilling action – all wonderful notions which stimulate the intellect while also never revealing everything completely.

And we’ll never know what that spinning top did at the end.

I don’t want to go into specifics, though I think I might have spoilt the film for those of you who haven’t seen it yet. What I can say is that if you loved the MATRIX trilogy, THE BUTTERFLY EFFECT and SHUTTER ISLAND, this is a film you definitely do not want to miss.

I am absolutely loving Leonardo DiCaprio right now. Didn’t much care for TITANIC, which was the starting point of his career, but after seeing him in a film like THE DEPARTED, I knew that I couldn’t afford to miss what he has to offer.

Cobb [Leonardo DiCaprio]: You create the world of the dream, you bring the subject into that dream, and they fill it with their subconscious.
Ariadne [Ellen Page]: How could I ever acquire enough detail to make them think that its reality?
Cobb: Well dreams, they feel real while we’re in them, right? It’s only when we wake up that we realize how things are actually strange.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

