Scattered Brainings X

9 09 2010

* My future brother-in-law (one of the three) asked me yesterday if the coat I was wearing was the one I had bought myself recently. Feel flattered to know he read by blog.

* Also, my future father-in-law asks me about my blog if I haven’t blogged lately. A audience of one is better than an audience of none… Plus it means the world to me that he reads it 🙂

* Holidays/ religious festivities are a danger to one’s waistline. Went to my future in-laws last night, since it’s Rosh Hashanah, and today I feel like a stuffed animal.

* Yes, I baked this cake (last week, for my future mother-in-law’s birthday) – it might not be a masterpiece, but it was fun doing ‘creating’ it. Made me long for a nice kiddies party.

* Ever notice how, when you’re enjoying a song on the radio, it’s usually cut short – but when it’s a load of annoying crap, they play the super extended version…?!

* When it comes to compiling documents, I’m a real whiz… although I now know far more about language teaching approaches than I would ever want to.

* Wondering if the reading-a-magazine-while-on-the-loo stereotype is actually very true. I went to the ladies room here at work, ‘powdered my nose’, washed my hands… and the stall that had been occupied when I entered was still occupied… And, for but a moment, before I walked out the door, I thought I heard the faint rustling of a page. Then complete silence again.

* This picture is the equivalent of having one of those kinds of days, where life throws you a curveball – and seems to be laughing at you, too:

* Have you ever had the background music from a film, cartoon or television series stuck in your head for most of the day? The worst thing is, I see snippets from the show, or the music seems fitting to what I am busy doing… Bizarre.

* Cape Town always has the most beautiful sunsets, no matter what the season or where you’re driving. It’s one great glorious canvas – where else in the world can you drive and see mountains, green fields, flowers and vineyards practically anywhere?

* This is how comfortable I’d like to be right now (don’t you just envy cats?):

* Diet + exercise = fit into wedding dress (yes?)

* Some Stephen King quotations:

~ “If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.”

~ “Fiction is the truth inside the lie.”

~ “The road to hell is paved with adverbs.”

~ “I think that we’re all mentally ill. Those of us outside the asylums only hide it a little better – and maybe not all that much better after all.”

~ “Books are a uniquely portable magic.”

~ “Life isn’t a support system for art. It’s the other way around.”

Actions

Information

One response

10 09 2010
AnTiViRuS

keep it real, iight

Leave a Reply

