Why I haven’t been blogging…

15 09 2010

There’s no really good reason why I haven’t been blogging this week… though of course I can think of a few (yes, they’re inconsequential).

I spent Monday in a day-long commissioning meeting, a nine to four timespan of listening to proposals and not really knowing what’s going on (though it was interesting, getting a look at that part of the industry). Upon getting home I was feeling more than a little bit brain-dead, so blogging was out of the question. I didn’t think my readers would be interested in my day’s activities, anyway.

Maybe I should try to lead a more interesting life…

I did, however, take the time to continue reading ON WRITING, a book on the craft by Stephen King, which is the last book I needed to complete my collection (yes, I feel pretty smug about that). I ended up doing some writing on Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday, which left me feeling pretty good. The writer’s block is starting to fade… and if it keeps me from blogging for an evening or two, I guess I’m all right with that.

Meeting, reading and writing. Those are three reasons.

Working, cooking, sleeping and playing with my cat are trivial matters, thus I won’t count them among my reasons-for-not-blogging. But there is one particular reason that stands out above all the rest, and it’s starting to become a mild obsession.

I fell in love with a web comic.

Lately I stumbled upon a link for the webcomic XKCD – I’ve heard of it before, of course, and seen some of the pics, but I never bothered to check out there sight… until recently… and now it’s taking up most of my time. Well, ‘most’ is probably an overstatement – but the fact of the matter is, when I get home from work and check my e-mails (along everyone’s Facebook statuses of the entire day), I open up XKCD and start reading random comics until I have to prepare supper… then again when my Significant Other is playing Starcraft II… and perhaps one or two more before I go to bed. You’d think that by now I’ve been through all of them, yet I do other things while reading the comics, too (like going on Facebook, reading blogs, playing with my cat, etc. etc.)

XKCD is “a webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math, and language” – most stuff of which I get (even though the math is a bit over my head, I still manage to find it humorous).

I’ve found a comic that describes my Significant Other:

One that has to do with LOLcats:

And one that depicts what I’d like to do with smart alecs who don’t know how to use language:

So forgive me, dear readers, for not blogging on Monday or Tuesday (or as frequently as I would like for the last few weeks). Another reason I am more hesitant to mention for not blogging is that I don’t know what to blog about (or, at least, what you would like me to blog about). Whenever I have a good idea for one, I’m usually busy and don’t have a scrap of paper closeby to jot it down.

But I’ll try to be more diligent this week. I just hope that my blog ideas don’t get mixed up in my short story draft – things could get pretty interesting from there…

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 09 2010
Adriaan

Hahaha, hope I am not going to get addicted…

The one of your significant other is so true 😉

28 09 2010
weight

yeah my dad will like this

Leave a Reply

