Big sisters and goodie bags

17 09 2010

Don’t you just love big sisters?

Even if you don’t have one, the connotations link to such a person is wonderful. You have someone who is loving, caring and nurturing (like a second mom), someone you can look up to, a person you can usually talk to about anything – you can even run crying, if you want to – and someone you would love to be like someday (helping you with your homework, watching TV with you, playing games and standing up for you? Who could ask for someone better?!)

My older sister is the best. We’ve had many a hissing, spitting cat-fight, ones that left me in tears and never wanting to speak to her ever again – but here I am now, aged 23 (and almost a half), being able to put things that irk me aside and even being her maid of honour at her wedding in April. I’m the one she comes to for advice, I’m the one she e-mails every morning and to shoot the (proverbial) sh*t with… and if you do want to mope and gripe about something, why not with someone who shares your genes?

There are times when we get into the most random e-mail conversations. Like Wednesday, for example, when we – as typical females, I suppose – talked about what goodies we like: sweeties, cookies, chocolate and crisps/ chips. Needless to say, this is accompanied with the I’m-not-supposed-to-it-that-since-it-has-so-many-kilojoules-and-I-already-feel/look-so-fat dialogue, but still, one can do worse than talking about these things and reminiscing on old times… Like giving in to indulgence and purchasing the treats you like/crave/want/need.

So last night, while I was sitting on my bed and reading through some research I’ve done for my  mini-thesis, my older sister sends me a text message to ask if I’m at the apartment, since she herself was on the way home and wanted to pop in to say hullo. Happy that she wanted to come over, I promised to make her a cup of coffee/tea… and upon her arrival, I was handed this:

A goodie bag. The types she made me while I was still at university and needed a few ‘pick-me-ups’ to snack on while studying/ doing assignments. God, how I loved having biscotti with my coffee… now I don’t even drink coffee anymore… Perhaps I should take up the habit again, though I’m not sure how my body will respond after 9 months of coffee-abstinance…

And now I suppose you’re wondering about the contents of the bag, hmm?

So, sooo many treats! It’s like Halloween (not that we celebrate it here), only early – plus I didn’t even have to go trick-or-treatin’ for the spoils! Lays lightly salted crisps/chips, Jolly Jammers (cookies), Wilson’s toffees, Sparkles, Maynards soft fruity chews, jelly tots and two KitKats – one a regular, the other the new KitKat Dark. I felt so spoilt… and I’m loving it!! 😉 The only thing I need to worry about now is my waistline – this is no time to over-indulge, especially since too much of a good thing is bad for you (and a lot of sugar is actually unhealthy)… plus I need to fit into a wedding dress in just under eight months.

Thus I would like to thank my older sister (I know you’re reading this!) for the e-mails, the support, the love – and the treats, of course. You’re pretty awesome, sis, and I love you very much 🙂

Guess now it’s my turn to treat her – screw her diet. If it goes for me, it goes for her, too! (Speaking of which, I really need to start exercising… yet that is something I still dread doing at a gym. Gym mat and weights for the apartment, anyone?)

And if my older sisters is training and, consequentially, on a diet, I’ll just have to put together a goodie bag for my younger sister – this big sis has yet to deliver!! (Does a tin full of home-baked cookies count?…)

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 09 2010
weighty

gonna send this to my mom

13 10 2010
hmm...?

thanks

Leave a Reply

