May I take your order?

5 10 2010

It’s only Tuesday, and already I have done a lot of work… and it’s not going to end there.

Seems like I’m the ‘Go To’ person when you need a favour – and at this point I’m not going to complain, since I like helping out where I can.

It’s just funny how things work out sometimes…

My older sister will have been married for six months this coming Sunday. As such, she has roped me in played on my gullible side asked me nicely if I would whip her up a batch of lasagne for the occasion, then she won’t have to worry about cooking. Okay, fine, no problem – she’s my big sister, so why not lend a helping hand?

On Sunday, upon visiting my future parentals (also known as the in-laws), I found at that mommy #2 was going away on a trip for a great part of the week, which means that she had spent part of her weekend preparing meals for the boys (I think all three my Significant Other’s brothers are staying at home, although I’m not sure of one of them) for the week ahead… And who does she ask if she wouldn’t mind preparing and bringing a batch of lasagne to them on Thursday? No brainer: me. Feel flattered and ‘nervous’ at the same time – almost like it’s a sort of ‘test’, where I have to win the approval of my brothers-to-be regarding my culinary prowess.

Did I mention I’ll be the first one to get married and take on their family name in about twenty years or more? [Yip, no pressure there…]

Again, I’m happy to do it, as I love helping out and would gladly do my second mommy a favour. So that’s one order to go (pick up), and one order for delivery (no fee added)…

To sound like one of those corny ads you see on television: “But wait, there’s MORE!!!”

I spoke to a good university friend of mine on Saturday, and she needed some help with proofreading for her Masters thesis. Only thing is, it would be about 130 pages, and they need to be proofread by next Monday (the 11th). Did I even hesitate in offering my assistance?

What do you think?

Typos, phrasing, content... EDIT!

(And I didn’t even ask for any sort of payment…)

She sent me the various sections on Sunday, telling me that she needed to have it by next Wednesday and thanking me for my help. I didn’t get around to working on it on Sunday, but I vowed that yesterday I would try to get at least halfway, sparing both of us a bit of stress. Of course I had to go to work first and ‘wurk hard for teh monies’ (as I always say in LOL-speak) before I could even think about looking at her thesis. Just slightly ironic that it fits in perfectly with the educational environment I find myself in, as well as some of the research I have been doing (although not as refined or in-depth as her stuff is – hers is a MA thesis, after all).

You know what? I reached my goal. I finished up the task I was busy with for work (OUP), worked on some tasks for World Book Day (due Friday and Monday), and then worked through three of six sections my friend sent me – sixty-four A4 pages, that is. And now, I only have sixty more pages to go 🙂

Yes, I’m proud of myself. Stick a golden star on that team player’s head *laugh*

I’ll probably be able to finish this first ‘order’ by tomorrow evening – marked for delivery to her inbox. The second ‘order’ is for Thursday – delivery; and the final order should be prepared on Saturday – to go (so it’ll be ready to pop into the oven for heating on Sunday). Please feel free to tip your server in any way you feel fit…

But hey, life’s pretty good, even though I should be exercising and need to go see a neurologist on Friday due to my headaches and feel so fidgety that I can’t breathe at this very moment (the air in- and outside the office is quite humid)… I’m wearing my team player, go get ‘em, would-you-like-fries-with-that panties this week – and I’ll tell you, the feeling is pretty good.

Now if only I had time to go grocery-shopping for the apartment…

(Oh, and did I might be climbing ladders and packing boxes for my mentor sometime this week? Perhaps I should see it as an extreme sport… or a test of endurance.)

I'll have to keep one of these handy...

Actions

Information

One response

5 10 2010
Liebe

You remind me of a younger version of myself 🙂
I really appreciate it, sis!
I wurks hards for my muhnies too and then I still have to play gym bunny, housewife & supporting, loving Significant Other. It never stops! So the break from the oven is a “gift”, one for which I thank you from the bottom of my heart. Besides, NO-ONE can make lasagne like my younger sister 🙂 The “Garfield” inside of my tummy approves. And your brother-in-law agrees with me 100%. See, the way to a man’s heart IS through his stomach 😉
Ladies & Gentleman, not only is she a wonderful, loving, supporting sister, daughter, Significant Other, employee, a brilliant writer, an intellectual idol, gorgeous human being inside & out, she’s also a brilliant cook! Booya baby!! Me luvies u sis!! xx

Leave a Reply

