Garfield: The 12 Courses of Dinner

24 11 2010

How many of you used to (and still do) watch Garfield? Episodes, TV specials for the holidays, short ‘films’ – the joys of watching everyone’s fat cat and the situations he manages to get himself into.

Well, if you did (and/ or do) watch Garfield, you just might remember the episode where Garfield finds different ways to remind Jon that his birthday is coming up. Having ‘fled’ all the way to Mexico, Jon finally gives up when a native approaches him and tells him that “the birthday of your cat is tomorrow”. Jon relents to give Garfield anything he wants…

…and from there, we have a parody on the Christmas song “The 12 Days of Christmas” – forthwith, in my mind at least, (forever) known as The 12 Courses of Dinner. Garfield has a whole stage set up, kitted out with a choir and everything. Lesson: if you’re going to celebrate your birthday, you might as well do it properly.

Although I remember most of it from memory, I was able – to my sheer delight – to find a write out of the whole scene online. As it is about a month before Christmas, I thought this post would be fitting, as it ties in with my post of yesterday – not the psychotic conditions and whatnot, but rather giving a twist to and having fun with what is actually a Christmas song. This blog post goes out to my two sisters, who I know (and hope) will sing along while seeing the episode in their heads. Love you two! xxx

Garfield: For the 1st course of dinner, you’re gonna make for me, lasagna primaverde.
For the 2nd course of dinner, you’re gonna make for me,
Jon: 2 prime ribs,
Garfield and chorus: And lasagna primaverde.
Garfield: For the 3rd course of dinner, you’re gonna make for me,
Jon: 3 bean salad,
Chorus: 2 prime ribs,
Garfield: And lasagna primaverde.
For the 4th course of dinner, you’re gonna make for me,
Jon: 4 pounds of shrimp,
Garfield: 3 bean salad,
Chorus: 2 prime ribs,
All: And lasagna primaverde.
Garfield: For the 5th course of dinner, you’re gonna make for me,
Jon: 5 onion rings,
Chorus: 4 pounds of shrimp,
Garfield: 3 bean salad,
All: 2 prime ribs,
Chorus: And lasagna primaverde.
Garfield: For the 6th course of dinner, you’re gonna make for me,
Jon: 6 sausage pizzas?!
Chorus: 5 onion rings,
Garfield: 4 pounds of shrimp,
Chorus: 3 bean salad,
Garfield: 2 prime ribs,
All: And lasagna primaverde.
Garfield: Notice a pattern forming here?
For the 7th course of dinner, you’re gonna make for me,
Jon: 7 baked potatoes,
Garfield: 6 sausage pizzas,
Chorus: 5 onion rings,
Garfield: 4 pounds of shrimp,
Chorus: 3 bean salad,
Garfield: 2 prime ribs,
All: And lasagna primaverde.
Garfield: With extra sauce on the side.
For the 8th course of dinner, you’re gonna make for me,
Jon: 8 chili burgers,
Garfield: And all that other food,
Chorus: And lasagna primaverde.
Garfield: We all know the menu by now.
For the 9th course of dinner, you’re gonna make for me,
Jon: 9 sukiyakis,
Garfield: And all the food I listed,
Chorus: And lasagna primaverde!
Garfield: In larger portions!
For the 10th course of dinner, you’re gonna make for me,
Jon: 10 beef burritos,
Chorus: And all the food he listed,
Garfield: And lasagna primaverde!
2 more to go, folks!
For the 11th course of dinner, you’re gonna make for me,
Jon: 11 veal cutlets,
Garfield: And other things quite yummy,
All: And lasagna primaverde!
Garfield: For the 12th course of dinner, I’d like seconds, please.
Chorus:
11 veal cutlets,
10 beef burritos,
9 sukiyakis,
8 chili burgers,
7 baked potatoes,
6 sausage pizzas,
5 onion rings,
4 pounds of shrimp,
3 bean salad,
2 prime ribs,
ALL: AND LASAGNA PRIMAVERDE!!!

(Only 365 more days until Garfield’s next birthday…)

Actions

Information

4 responses

24 11 2010
Liebe

I love you sis! Thanks for making my day!! 🙂 xx

9 12 2010
great Forex Power Strategy free tools

Just want to say what a great blog you got here!I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work! Thumbs up, and keep it going!

13 12 2010
murq

I’ve been looking for this song for ages! 😀 I only remembered the onion rings and the lasagna… Thanks!!

19 12 2011
Some Christmas blog entries « The Skinny on my Jeans (Genes)

[…] * Garfield – the 12 courses of dinner […]

Leave a Reply

