Cartoon Christmas Specials I grew up with

10 12 2010

Isn’t the Festive Season grand?

Though I have yet to truly catch the spirit of the whole thing (makes it sound like a disease, doesn’t it, if you ‘catch’ it – like a cold or the flu or some kind of infection), the one thing I love about it all is the fact that I get to reminisce about times past…

…and get back to the glorious days of childhood: watching cartoon Christmas specials.

We have a lot of VHS cassettes and DVDs at home… a looooot… about three cupboards’ worth of videos, I’d guess. And amongst all the movies and stories and wide variety of children’s programmes, you’ll find a few Christmas tapes with some of the specials us three daughters grew up with.

I’d be lying if I said we didn’t watch a few of them every year, up until the current day.

Christmas wouldn’t be ‘Christmas’ if we didn’t delight in A GARFIELD CHRISTMAS SPECIAL and sing along with silly smiles of knowing (said ‘knowing’ is that we are getting on in years and we still ‘insist’ on acting like children).

Here’s a list of some of the cartoon Christmas specials I know we have at home. There are quite a few more, yet I cannot recall each and every one of them… I’ll just have to make a trip to my parental home and fix that 🙂

[PS: Apparently there’s a HE-MAN/ SHE-RA CHRISTMAS SPECIAL somewhere – I need to get my hands on it!!!]

CARTOON CHRISTMAS SPECIALS:

1) A Garfield Christmas Special

2) The Twelve Days of Christmas

3) A Charlie Brown Christmas

4) Sonic's Christmas Blast

5) Inspector Gadget Saves Christmas

6) Jingle Bell Rock

7) A Chipmunk Christmas

8.) A Jetson Christmas Carol

9) Buster and Chauncey's Silent Night

10) The Nutcracker Prince

11) Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 12 2010
Craig Smith

I loved the Garfield cartoon series!

11 12 2010
Liske van Lill

I know, right? 🙂 My mum still has a few videos with episodes we recorded when it was on television

19 12 2011
Some Christmas blog entries « The Skinny on my Jeans (Genes)

[…] * Cartoon Christmas specials I grew up with […]

Leave a Reply

