Boredom can lead to making up silly songs…

14 12 2010

I’m slightly bored.

But you probably could have deduced that from the title of this blog post…

For some annoying reason, I have a song from THE SOUND OF MUSIC stuck in my head – the one about some of her favourite things. You know what I’m talking about… right?

Quite some time ago, I was wondering how I would put a few of my favourite things into a song (yip, blame it on Julie Andrews and whoever wrote the lyrics). And now, here at work, a line popped into my head: “puppies and kitties and ponies in pockets”.

Starting to scare myself…

If you’re a child of the 80s and 90s, you probably know what I’m talking about – the Puppies and Kitties in my Pocket you could collect and play with. This later extended to Ponies and Teddies, as well. I’ve noticed over the last few years that these little pocket critters are back… at a laughably high price, I might add.

But all that aside (and not to sound very foolish and silly by talking about what marketers thought you would keep in your pocket since they were so small, not that I believe that any of us did carry them around with us), here is what a moment of boredom ‘inspired’ – a few verses from that favourite things song, now more suitably titled: “A few of our childhood memories”.

If anyone ever finds me doing something like this again, plus feel free to pull a Garfield on me and proverbially drag met out into the street and shoot me.

—–

A Few of our Childhood Mem’ries

[Verse 1]

puppies and kitties and ponies in pockets

girls with their make-up and boys with their rockets

make-believe stories and climbing up trees

these are a few of our childhood mem’ries

[Verse 2]

video games for the boys and the girls

playing we’re pirates or doing some twirls

running and falling and scraping of knees

these are a few of our childhood mem’ries

[Verse 3]

‘camping’ in bedrooms and wanting to bake

not worried ‘bout waistlines so “let them eat cake”

driving mums crazy, then afternoon z’s

these are a few of our childhood mem’ries

[Chorus]

Barbie concerts

fancy dress up

birthday parties galore –

thinking of all the dear childhood mem’ries

and missing them mooore… aaand more

So am I also supposed to wear my PJs like they did in the movie if I ever decide to sing this song out loud??

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 12 2010
Salóme van Lill

Excellent!! Adré and I were singing “So long, farewell, auf wiedersehn, goodbye” today!! Same movie…. odd!!

15 12 2010
Camp Song Lyrics to Share This Summer time | Buy Guitars Online

[…] Boredom can lead to making up silly songs … The Skinny on my Jeans (Genes) […]

Leave a Reply

