Christmas sing-along with Garfield

21 12 2010

How many of you have seen the Garfield Xmas special?

I know I’ve been going on about Garfield and cartoons and getting into the spirit of the festive season (all of which can be rolled into one)… which is probably why, now that it is the 21st already – a few days shy of Christmas – the songs are starting to loop in my head.

I wish I could find the stop button… even fast forwarding would help.

Anyway, since Garfield is a firm favourite in our happy parental home (I’m sure it’s definitely something in our genes), here is a little number Jon and Garfield sing while on their way to the Arbuckle family home/ farm/ whatever. I can’t seem to help myself – the special came out in my birth year, after all (1987).

Garfield seems like bit of a Scrooge in this song, but he really does enjoy the whole spirit of Christmas thing. After all, he even goes as far as saying:

“All right, you guys, just permit me one sentimental moment here, will you? I have something to say. Christmas: it’s not the giving, it’s not the getting – it’s the Loving… There, I said it. Now get outta’ here.”

If you know the tune (and perhaps even the words by heart), sing along. And if you don’t… I’m sure you can find a video for it on YouTube.

Let the road trip begin!

Jon: I remember when my brother Doc Boy and I were little…

Garfield: Oh brother, here we go again…

[commence singing!!]

Jon: Dad would chop down the tree…

Garfield: Chores.

Jon: Mom would fix up a meal…

Garfield: Work.

Jon: Doc Boy would get in the way –

Garfield: Fighting – Big Fat hairy deal!!

[Odie: bark!]

Jon: Decorating the tree…

Garfield: Gardening.

Jon: Wiring all of the lights…

Garfield: Electrical contracting.

Jon: Wrapping boxes and writing out cards –

Garfield: Office work, out of sight.

[Odie: bark bark bark]

Jon: Then we’d take those presents aaand pile them under the tree – we’d barely get a wink of sleep, [Odie barks along] wondering what they could be!

Garfield: The special gifts of Christmas –

Jon: – Christmas –

Garfield: – that really make it great –

Jon: – it’s so great –

Garfield: – are the insomnia and the anxiety… kids get from having to wait!

Jon: Can’t wait ‘til Christmas… there’s so much to do

[Odie: ah-wooo!!]

Jon: Can’t wait ‘til Christmaaaas…..

Garfield: Wake me when it’s through.

[Odie: bark!]

[Singing stops. Jon parks the car, then says:]

Jon: Now behave yourself this Christmas, Garfield.

Garfield: Sure – I’ll wait in the car.

Happy Holidays, everyone ❤

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 12 2010
Liebe

Yeah! Just had myself a nice sing-along 🙂 Love you sis! xx

19 12 2011
Some Christmas blog entries « The Skinny on my Jeans (Genes)

[…] * Christmas sing-along with Garfield […]

Leave a Reply

