Back to work

3 01 2011

We’re scarcely into the New Year, and I’m already back at work.

And you know, pretty soon, I know that I’m going to miss it.

My internship ends on the 12th of January – next Wednesday – and we’re supposed to be having a pseudo ‘graduation’ ceremony on the 13th… What it basically entails is that we’re going to get a nice little certificate to show that we, the interns, completed the internship.

Neat, huh?

Yes, that was sarcasm, and it hardly seems worth the fuss. [But, if you must know, it probably will be sort of ‘neat’ to have that certificate – for the pure fact that I can mention it on my CV.]

I’ve already spent a not-so-considerable-but-getting-there amount of time thinking about what I’ll miss once I leave OUP… although that is a blog post for another day.

So here I am, sitting at my desk, having arrived at work at 08:05, wondering how to occupy my time until it quarter to five. My mentor, who is on leave until next Tuesday, gave me a task to complete, yet it can only be worked on once the Department of Education releases the new CAPS documents. Which means that I’ll most likely be sitting here, yawning and bleary eyed, until well into next week (with my luck).

I’m not going to complain, though. I love my ‘job’ – I really, really do. I wish the company had a few positions I could apply for, as I am keen on staying here (and, truth be told, the team is pretty keen on keeping me, as well). Once we reach the 13th and the ‘graduation’ ceremony is over, I’m back to the drawing board – I shall, officially, be *dramatic pause* unemployed. Jobless. Without an income. On the dole… and other pretty little terms of the like.

Actually, I’ll be a freelancer… but, at this point, the two mean pretty much the same to me. I don’t even like to think about searching for a new job. (Though I have done so for the last two or so months.)

When will you be heading back to work?

No idea on which road the future will take me...

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

