Jane Austen quotations

7 02 2011

* Life seems but a quick succession of busy nothings.

* Nobody minds having what is too good for them.

* There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends. I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.

* I hate to hear you talk about all women as if they were fine ladies instead of rational creatures. None of us want to be in calm waters all our lives.

* How quick come the reasons for approving what we like!

* There is hardly any personal defect which an agreeable manner might not gradually reconcile one to.

* You are never sure of a good impression being durable.

* Why not seize the pleasure at once? How often is happiness destroyed by preparation, foolish preparation!

* I do not want people to be agreeable, as it saves me that trouble of liking them.

* For what do we live, but to make sport for our neighbours, and laugh at them in our turn?

* There’s nothing like staying at home for real comfort.

* I was sure you could not be so beautiful for nothing!

* In vain I have struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.

* No man is offended by another man’s admiration of the woman he loves; it is the woman only who can make it a torment.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 02 2011
Collection Blog

Jane Austen The Quotes Ladies…

[…] re fine ladies instead of rational creatures. None of us want to be in calm wate […]…

17 02 2011
facebook

i love it

Leave a Reply

