Almost 24

7 04 2011

Rapunzel: So mother, earlier I was saying tomorrow is a really big day, and you didn’t really respond, so I’m just gonna tell you: it’s my BIRTHDAY! Tada!

Mother Gothel: No, no, no, can’t be. I distinctly remember – your birthday was last year.

Rapunzel: That’s the funny thing about birthdays – they’re kind of an annual thing.

Tomorrow is my birthday, and I’ll be turning 24.

Twenty. Four. (!!!) [cue ticking music and timer from the 24 television series.]

It’s funny how, when you’re young, you think that people aged 24/ 25 and up are ‘adults’… which means that, according to kiddie standards, that would be me come tomorrow… or maybe only even next year… *sigh* Before I know it, I’ll be thirty. Won’t that be something to look forward to.

Luckily I look pretty young for my age… or at least, that’s what I’m told. Last year when I was looking after – yes, babysitting – a little girl, she couldn’t believe how old I was, because I’m ‘not like’ grownups or older people… plus I love cartoons and animated movies, building puzzles and having a laugh, unlike grownups, as was her opinion.

Sure, I suppose I’m still young at heart. In fact, twenty-four isn’t seen as that old anymore these days. It’s not like being twenty-four and unmarried (only for another month, though) makes me doomed to be an old maid for the rest of my life. I don’t have to have kids in my mid-twenties. I can focus on building my career… and while doing all that, I can still be happy and child-like and sometimes carefree.

Just as long as I remember where and when to be immature (which, I’m told, is a sign of maturity), I’ll be fine.

So, in keeping with feeling ‘young’ with the commencement of another birthday – anyone want to bake me a cake…? 😉

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

