Betty Bright makes the office come alight (someone hand me my shades!)

10 08 2011

It just takes one person… Always just one…

You (working folk) probably know what I’m talking about.

There’s always that one person that just seems to know how to bug you. Call it a built-in kind of intuition or whatever you like, but said person always sidles up to your desk to check up on you, ask what you’re doing a few times daily (which then keeps you from doing your work), seems to want praise for what he or she has been doing, uses some of the ideas you have come up with for a brainstorming session as his or her own… the list goes on and on.

And sometimes, this person also believes that the two of you are good friends.

Guess who has the privilege of having one of those people at the office?

(You can all put your hands down now.)

She also just might be driving me mad.

I’m trying to think of a way to describe her that doesn’t sound too horrible. Let’s say that she’s a woman who is quite advanced in years (quite!) and who tends to brighten up the room…

…not with her personality, I’ll add, but with her clothes.

I’ve started thinking that I should keep track of the colours she wears every day and try to discern if there is some sort of pattern. That way I’ll be able to divine what day of the week it is just by looking if she’s wearing green or blue!

It’s not that she just dresses brightly. Some days it’s a toss-up whether she’s wearing clashing colours (today we have green and purple on the menu that don’t seem complimentary) or if she has become the embodiment of one specific colour: purple pants, purple turtleneck, purple shirt/ jersey… all different shades.

It would seem that she has taken the poem “When I am an old woman I shall wear purple” to heart (even if it’s only the opening line… although I cannot be too sure about the rest *ponder*).

I’d call her the Rainbow Fairy, but I don’t know if she’s sprightly enough anymore to be referred to as such… 😉 Perhaps the Walking Colour Chart? Betty Bright? Yes, that will do nicely – Betty Bright.

There is a lot I can say about her. I suppose she’s just trying to be nice, making friends and conversation (sometimes at inappropriate, busy times), yet why I have been targeted I haven’t the slightest idea. All I know is that I might need to start wearing my sunglasses to work, otherwise I might be blinded due to over-exposure to the clothing equivalent of UV rays.

Developments over here are getting absolutely shocking. And trust me, it ain’t easy on the eyes…

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 08 2011
imaginewisdom

Somehow, I know exactly how you feel 🙂 hiehie!

31 08 2011
Scattered Brainings XIV « The Skinny on my Jeans (Genes)

[…] how much you have in common with someone you find a tad annoying and, yes, sometimes overwhelming. Betty Bright drinks green tea, loves cats, doesn’t like rugby… and believes that the two of us think alike. […]

Leave a Reply

