Go ahead – eat a rainbow

5 09 2011

Friday evening – it might have been just after eleven – I was in the mood to bake something. My mother-in-law would be celebrating her birthday the next day, and I wanted to come up with something special. Something out of the ordinary…

…which is how I ended up making rainbow cupcakes!!! 😀

I’ve always wanted to try it, and though I wasn’t sure how it would turn out, I was determined to be creative. I simply used my regular old cupcake recipe, divided the batter between four bowls, then added food colouring. I then went on to place a spoonful of each colour into the cookie cups: first blue, then yellow, then green, and finally red.

The result?

Well, see for yourselves. All in all, I think it came out pretty awesome! I promise I’ll share the recipe soon.

[My younger sister Addy has already placed an order for her 21st birthday next year. But I think I should try and work on it a bit more – there’s only so much one can do with an oven that doesn’t even heat properly…]

After dividing the batter into 4 bowls, I mixed in the food colouring

Tada! Hmm, nothing like the smell of cupcakes after midnight...

Fresh, colourful and delicious

Icing made with icing sugar and lemon juice

An explosion of brightness

And the pattern on the cookie cup looks just as nice

Delivering some happiness + sprinkles to my mum and sisters

Just look at that - Nyan cat would be pleased 😉 Haz a happee - eat teh rainbows!!

Actions

Information

6 responses

5 09 2011
whatsaysyou

That is totally creative and awesome. Rainbow cupcakes sounds like a splendid dessert and idea

5 09 2011
Salóme van Lill

My rainbow was divine!! Thanks for being so considerate and always sharing with your mommy!! 😉

12 09 2011
Easy cupcake recipe « The Skinny on my Jeans (Genes)

[…] the recipe I promised you when I blogged about those Rainbow Cupcakes last […]

13 09 2011
On the (interesting) subject of cupcakes « The Skinny on my Jeans (Genes)

[…] I posted the pictures of the rainbow cupcakes on my blog last week, I started pondering: where does the cupcake’s origin lie? Are there any […]

13 09 2011
On the (interesting) subject of cupcakes « The Skinny on my Jeans (Genes)

[…] I posted the pictures of the rainbow cupcakes on my blog last week, I started pondering: where […]

13 09 2011
On the (interesting) subject of cupcakes « The Skinny on my Jeans (Genes)

[…] I posted the pictures of the rainbow cupcakes on my blog last week, I started pondering: where […]

Leave a Reply

