“I became insane, with long intervals of horrible sanity”

4 10 2011

Edgar Allan Poe, I couldn’t have put it better myself.

As mentioned in a previous blog entry, I sometimes tend to have a love-hate relationship with my job as Project Manager. On the one hand, I’m learning new things and developing my skills (I’m always told how d*mn efficient and ‘energetic’ I am)… while, on the other hand, I have to deal with things that aren’t really my responsibility – tedious things that are a muddle of delays and confusion due to other people’s incompetence. I’m all for helping out where I can (and ‘assisting’ with things really means that you’ll end up doing everything yourself and be held liable for other people’s mistakes/ delays, etc. ), but when does it end? When can you say, “Okay, that’s it, I’ve had enough – I don’t care anymore. It’s Not. My. Problem.”?

Again: the joys of being a Project Manager.

Maybe if I ignore it, it'll go away...

It’s really enough to drive me insane… except that I have to try and keep a clear head, thinking things through and coming up with solutions – thus it’s the sanity that starts to feel strange and out of place, since it’s quite difficult to gain order and clarity out of ‘chaos’.

I suppose you have to be a little insane to work in this industry. I’ve never really been ‘normal’ anyway (are any of us? Ha-ha). Working with crazy deadlines, unreasonable people, stupid computers that act up on you, and feeling that even your best attempts are futile?

Yip, this industry is a veritable insane asylum. And the only way to ‘escape’ is to find alternative employment…

…not that I believe there’s any cure. If you have an editorially inclined mind, you’ll be applying it to everything. Even other people’s Facebook and Twitter updates!

[The only time appalling grammar is acceptable is when it comes to all those cute LOLcat pictures 😉 ]

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

